Back-to-School Events – FREE Books!

 

FREE Books at
Back-to-School Festivals
Promote Reading

Updated List below! 
Hope for Miami and FIU have teamed up and are giving away a total of 12,000 books at numerous back-to-school festivals around Miami-Dade County.

The book distributions are an extension of the Summer Reading Explorers program funded by The Children’s Trust. In addition to free books, some festivals will offer free backpacks and school supplies; school uniforms, haircuts, and physicals. 

So come on out and get ready to start the school year off right!

Date Time Site Address Organization Contact/Phone/Email
Friday 
July 26
10 to 2 pm Peacock Park 2820 McFarlane Road City of Miami Esther Balsera 
(305) 416-1532
ebalsera@miamigov.com
Saturday 
July 27
10 to 
2 pm 
Homestead
Speedway
1 Speedway Blvd.,
Homestead 33035
New Life Community Outreach/Baptist Health Patty Miller
(305) 834-3341
PattyM@baptisthealth.net 

Sunday
July 28 
10 to 
2 pm
Jose Marti Park 351 SW 4th St. 
Miami 33130
Amigos for Kids Rosa Plasencia
(305) 279-1155
rmplasencia@amigosforkids.org
Saturday
Aug. 3
10:30 am Kendale Lakes Library 152nd Ave. & Kendall Drive District 11 Comm. Juan Zapata Fernanda Sanchez
305-375-5511
fernanda@miamidade.gov
Saturday
Aug. 3
10 am Pablo Duarte Park 2800 NW 17th Ave.,
Miami 33142
Young Dreams Community Outreach Organization Jordana Zarut
(786) 873-6322
youngdreamsco@gmail.com
Thursday
Aug. 8
9 to
1 pm
Maternal and Child Health Ctr. 551 W 51st 
Place, Hialeah
33012
Citrus Health
Network
Lourdes Martinez
(305) 825-0300
lourdesm@citrushealth.com
Friday, 
Aug. 9
11 to
 2 pm
North Dade Health Center  16555 NW 25th Ave.,
Miami Gardens 33054
The Next Level of Hope Erik McCall
(305) 812-5542
thenextlevelofhope@gmail.com
Saturday
Aug. 10
10 to
2 pm
Hialeah Church of Nazarene 310 East 5th St., Hialeah El Buen Pastor Mally Abella
mally@pcrepairbyabel.com
Saturday
Aug. 10
10 to
 1 pm
Camp Owaisser 
Bauer
17001 SW 264th St,
Homestead 33031
District 8 Commissioner 
Lynda Bell
Charlene Collazo
(305) 378-6677
collazo@miamidade.gov
Saturday
Aug. 10
10 to 1 pm  Olinda Park 2101 NW 51st,
Miami 33142
District 3 Commissioner 
Audrey Edmonson
Gina Vargas
(305) 636-2331
gvargas@miamidade.gov
Sunday
Aug. 11
9 to 
1 pm
Doral 10045 NW 19th
St., Doral 33172
Metro Life
Church
Yoshika Green
(954) 668-5814
ygreen@metrolifechurch.com
Saturday
Aug. 17

11 to 2 pm  West Perrine Park 10301 SW 170th Terr.
Miami 33157
West Perrine Christian 
Association 
Julia Banks
jbanks@miamidade.gov

For additional information relating to the book giveaways, contact:

Deanna Steffy, Program Assistant at Hope for Miami

(786) 388-3000 Ext. 308

deanna@hopeformiami.org 

 

The Children’s Trust is a dedicated source of revenue established by voter referendum to improve the lives of children and families in Miami-Dade County by making strategic investments in their future.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s